Zelluläre Biophysik und Translationale Kardiologie

Zelluläre Biophysik und Translationale Kardiologie
Research Unit for Cellular Biophysics and Translational Cardiology

A major focus of the working group of Translational Cardiology are molecular mechanisms, which control muscle function and pathophysiological changes due to disease. We use a variety of techniques including biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, high-resolution imaging (confocal and super resolution microscopy; voltage mapping), transgenic models and comprehensive phenotyping methods. In particular, calcium binding proteins and intracellular calcium signaling are a major interest. For example cardiac ryanodine receptor (RyR2) calcium release channels, which control cardiac contraction and relaxation and modulate physiological stress adaptation during the fight-or-flight response. On the other hand, RyR2 channel dysfunction contributes to heart failure, arrhythmias, and sudden cardiac death. We develop therapeutic options for RyR2 mutation carriers with the syndrome Catecholaminergic Polymorphic Ventricular Tachycardia (CPVT), characterized by stress-induced syncope and sudden death. Because RyR2 and other calcium binding proteins can directly contribute to cardiac and other disease forms, the molecular and cellular mechanisms are investigated. A large part of our research activities is "translational" by nature and contributes to increased understanding of the molecular basis of diseases like heart failure and sudden cardiac death. Additionally, novel diagnostic and therapeutic strategies are developed and tested. Our research group is located is located in the Heart Research Center Göttingen.

Ansprechpartner / Kontakt
Lehnart
Prof. Dr. med. Stephan E. Lehnart
Arbeitsgruppenleiter und SFB1002-Teilprojektleiter
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63630
Telefax:
0551-39-63724
E-Mail:
slehnart@med.uni-goettingen.de


             

Christiane Schulz
Sekretariat Prof. Lehnart
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63631
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63724
E-Mail:
cschulz@med.uni-goettingen.de
Ort:
1.160
Telelift:
194
Dr. med. Sören Brandenburg
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Pieper:
919-1437
Telefax:
0551-39 63724
E-Mail:
soeren.brandenburg@med.uni-goettingen.de
Telelift:
194
Miroslav Dura Ph.D.
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63640
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63724
E-Mail:
miroslav.dura@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dr. rer. nat. Tobias Kohl
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63640
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63724
E-Mail:
tobias.kohl@med.uni-goettingen.de
Brigitte Korff
Technical Assistant
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63642/63643
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63710
E-Mail:
brigitte.korff@med.uni-goettingen.de
Daniel Kownatzki-Danger
Ph.D. student
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63724
E-Mail:
daniel.kownatzki@med.uni-goettingen.de
Jonas Peper
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
E-Mail:
jonas.peper@med.uni-goettingen.de
Birgit Schumann
Technical Assistant
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63649/63644
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63710
E-Mail:
birgit.schumann@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dennis Uhlenkamp
Ph.D. student
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
Dr. rer. nat. Eva Wagner
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63640
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63705
E-Mail:
eva.wagner@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dr. rer. nat. Gunnar Weninger
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 63637
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 63704
E-Mail:
gunnar.weninger@med.uni-goettingen.de

Former members

Sarah Gockel
MD/PhD Student
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 12644
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 10650
E-Mail:
sarahgockel@gmx.de
Konstantin Gusev Ph.D.
E-Mail:
k.o.gusev@gmail.com

Institute of Cytology of the Russian Academy of Science, St. Petersburg
 

Dr. med. Kristian Hellenkamp
PostDoc / Facharzt für Innere Medizin und Kardiologie
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 12100
Pieper:
919-6801
E-Mail:
kristian.hellenkamp@med.uni-goettingen.de
Ort:
2. OG B4 Raum 786 (Flur 13)
Alex Johnston
PhD Student - IRTG 1816
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 12644
Telefax:
+49 (0)551 39 10650
E-Mail:
alex.johnston@med.uni-goettingen.de
Nour Raad, MD. Ph.D.
Resident
Telefon:
+49 (0)551 39 66328
Pieper:
919-2767
E-Mail:
nour.raad@med.uni-goettingen.de
Dipl.-Biol. Julia Hanni Steinbrecher
General Electric (GE) Healthcare
Dr. Jan-Hendrik Streich
Medical Advisor, Novartis Pharma GmbH
Dr. rer. nat. Silvio Weber
Arbeitsgruppenleiter Kardiale Sheddomik, Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie, TU Dresden
Weitere Informationen / Links
Downloads
Publikationen
14,52 KB